WWE referee Rod Zapata has been fined after counting the controversial pinfall during the WrestleMania 35 main event, Fightful reports.
According to Fightful, Zapata was summoned by Vince McMahon during RAW, who fined the referee an undisclosed amount of money.
During the Mania main event, Becky Lynch pinned Ronda Rousey, and though Rousey's shoulders were off the mat, Zapata counted the 3-count.
Defending himself, Zapata said how Rousey had been competing with a broken hand, and wouldn't have been able to continue.
The unwritten rule is that referees should officiate WWE matches as shoot fights, and if a Superstar makes a mistake during a pinfall, it would be on them.
On RAW, referee Dan Elger was also fined for a smaller mistake during a match between Chad Gable & Bobby Roode and Aleister Black & Ricochet.
Despite the controversial finish, the result stands and Lynch is now the RAW and SmackDown Women's Champion.
Follow us on @WNSource
Follow us on Instagram
LIKE us on Facebook
⚡ News tip? Email email@example.com